Èze: Whisper of the Earth Goddesses

DSC_1322

If climbing to the heavens was possible, I think I would know the feeling of it, difficult, wearisome, but absolutely enlightening and magical. Those were some of the thoughts going through my mind as I did the hike to Eze Village, the medieval town that is at the peak of the mountain standing 429 m (1,401 ft) above sea level. I’m not sure if it was the heat trying to hold me down tenaciously, or the fact that I didn’t have a big meal that made me feel like the hour and a half hike lasted even longer. I kept my sight just before my feet, trying not to trip on a rock, but suddenly I looked up and I was captivated by the panoramic view of the Mediterranean.

I was not entirely sure of what awaited me at the top, but a small still wind pushed me further into the unknown opening the path of exploration before my eyes. All of the sudden, I was in Eze, the beautiful medieval town in the Alpes-Maritimes department in southeastern France. The construction is so ancient that the narrow streets have no room for cars, but wide enough to take a stroll by its cobblestone streets.

I walked my way up to the Jardin Exotique D’Eze, the garden that holds the collection of cactus and the dwelling place of the “Soil Goddesses.” The sculptures by Jean-Philippe Richard, seemed to have life of their own, whispering their poems to the stretches of the mountains.

“Feet firmly anchored on the ground, but head in the stars…”

“Hush ! you know nothing of my thoughts behind the curtain of my eyes”

In the midst of everything, while starring at the mountains and the sea, I heard the whisper that had once guided me here saying softly, “bienvenue.” It was then that my journey to the top, while difficult, proved to be worth every step.

DSC_1292DSC_1306 DSC_1308 DSC_1310 DSC_1312 DSC_1323 DSC_1360 DSC_1364 DSC_1365 DSC_1372 DSC_1376 DSC_1375 DSC_1351

 

6 thoughts on “Èze: Whisper of the Earth Goddesses

  1. Beautiful pictures & great story, I felt I was going up the climb with you! 💜 Miss you friend! But I’m glad you’re living each moment and not thinking like you mentioned in the entry before!

    Like

Leave a Reply

